Other Capitals of Culture

The principal concept of the European Capital of Culture title, which originated with the Greek Minister of Culture Melina Mercouri in the 1980’s, is bringing together European nations. In 1999 the title was changed to European Capital of Culture.

The partner city of Pilsen for the year 2015 is the Belgian city of Mons, near Brussels.

2019 (Italy) and (Bulgaria)

2018 Valletta (Malta) and (Netherlands)

2017 Aarhus (Danemark) and Paphos (Cyprus)

2016 San Sebastian (Spain) and Wrocław (Poland)

2015 Mons (Belgium) and Pilsen (Czech Republic)

2014 Riga (Latvia) and Umea (Sweden)

2013 Košíce (Slovakia) and Marseille-Provance (France)

2012 Guimarães (Portugal) and Maribor (Slovenia)

2011 Turku (Finland) and Tallinn (Estonia)

2010 Istanbul (Turkey), Essen for the Ruhr Region (Germany) and Pécs (Hungary)

2009 Vilnius (Lithuania) and Linz (Austria)

2008 Liverpool (United Kingdom) and Stavanger (Norway)

2007 Sibiu (Romania) and Luxemburg (Luxemburg)